Secret stairs and pretty flowers

Standard

Before I get distracted today by random links, emails and other internet goodies I’ll share a couple pics from my neighborhood dog walking adventures.

I live on the east side of L.A. in a neighborhood know as Silverlake/Los Feliz in between downtown and Griffith Park. The area has been around long enough to develop a unique character that most people don’t associate with typical L.A. strip malls, suburbia, and freeways. The landscape around my house is very hilly and reminds me of my favorite city, San Francisco. When the  neighborhood was originally built in the 1920s and 30s planners included public stairways as a safer more direct route for pedestrians to access public transportation, schools, and shopping areas instead of walking on the streets.  These public stairs still exist and are scattered around the hills but a lot of them aren’t obvious unless you’re looking for them. My husband and I have dubbed them secret stairs and have a lot of fun finding them while walking our  dog.

I’ve noticed that the higher you go up these hills the nicer the neighborhoods get. Combine nice neighborhoods and nearly year round sunshine and you get beautiful landscaping. The vivid blooming flowers draw my attention often while walking around.

——–

In other news, I’m driving up to Santa Cruz tonight to participate in the Warrior Dash tomorrow. Hopefully all those weeks of p90X videos will pay off.

4 responses »

    • It has its moments. What I’ve noticed about L.A. is that it makes you work for it. What I mean by that is that there are a lot of fantastic things about this city but they aren’t readily apparent or accessible. It’s not like San Francisco where you walk out the door and find multiple things you like in a couple block radius. Things are more spread out here and you’ve got to weed through a lot of fluff to find some true gems.

Leave a Reply

