City of Angels?

Standard

I have a love/hate relationship with the city of L.A. but because I’m focusing on the positives here I will write about one of things I really enjoy about Los Angeles.

I love all the art, culture, music, food, and other random events you can go to in this city. Los Angeles is one of the most diverse cities in the country if not the world. On any given night there are so many options of things to do that I don’t see how I could be bored if I am willing to leave the house.

Friday night my husband and I went to a fashion show at the lot of Sunset Gower Studios for Anthony Franco. Going to a fashion show is not my typical Friday night but it was fun to stand on a red carpet in Hollywood, have a few free drinks, and my husband high-fived Jack Black. We went to the after-party at a club called Tru and then headed over to Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles for some seriously delicious food. The yams were amazing and my mouth is starting salivate just writing about them.

As I mentioned in my post on Friday, we went to Dia de los Muertos at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery on Saturday with our neighbors. I took a few pictures of my favorite altars but they really don’t do the event justice. Everywhere you looked there were people dressed in gorgeous costumes, vendors with objects I’d love to own, and touching altars to ancestors, celebrities, and important events.

P.S. A friend of mine had this link on his Facebook page and I just had to share: Take Back Halloween. I’ve never been a fan of store bought costumes due to their expense and unoriginality and this site has some fantastic ideas for avoiding the Sexy_____ costumes trap. I see a Pele or Minoan Queen costume in my future.

Leave a Reply

